Skip to content

Chris Doyle Give Us Hope

April 14, 2011

While doing some postal research last night, we found this discussion about seatpost height in a recent Chris Doyle feature on ESPN’s web site. Chris notes that we might even see him raise-up some more in the near future, and calls for an uprising amongst his post-shy peers. The same folks also did a bike check with Doyle, where you can read about what’s attached to his seatpost.

I know you’ve maintained a good fistful of seatpost for a long time now. Have you ever been tempted to lower your seat or are you content with your seat height?
I’m content with my current seat post height. Honestly, where my seat is at now is actually a bit low for me. People always trip out when I tell them that, but keep in mind, I’m 6’3″. One of my favorite tricks is the suicide double-truck and I almost never do it anymore because my seat is too low for good pinching. When you do single bars or bar-catch-bar you don’t need too secure of a pinch, but when you leave your hands off for an extended period (like during the double-truck) you need a solid, comfortable pinch to keep your bike from falling out from under you. That being said, you might see an even higher post on my bike soon. On a side note, I wish more people would raise their seats up and do straight double bars again. Personally, I think straight doubles look way better than bar-catch-bar.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chad permalink
    April 15, 2011 3:27 am

    Give it to me straight, my post is high?

Leave a Reply

